Wanderers, Victory share spoils in NYL

Western Sydney Wanderers and Melbourne Victory played out a 1-1 draw in the final round of the Foxtel National Youth League season at Cook Park on Saturday.

The Wanderers held most of the possession and looked more threatening in the opening quarter hour but it was the Victory who almost stole the lead.

Jordan Brown found space and shot toward goal. His effort beat goalkeeper Thomas Manos but cannoned off the upright.

The Wanderers soon had the lead though, as Nicholas Olsen beat Keegan Coulter to the ball, rounding him and placing the ball into an empty net.

However, Western Sydney were dealt a blow just passed the half-hour mark when they were reduced to 10 men after Daniel Alessi received a second yellow card for a mistimed challenged.

Victory young-gun Christopher Cristaldo almost took advantage of his team's numerical advantage, springing the offside trap before running in one-on-one with Manos but he couldn't get his shot on target.

Minutes before half-time, Alusine Fofanah clumsily brought down Cristaldo inside the penalty area. Cristaldo brushed himself off to take the spot kick but he was denied by Manos.

Luc Jeggo was the first to attempt to find an equaliser but his effort from distance sailed over the bar.

In the 71st minute, Anthony Proia punished a tiring Wanderers outfit as he ran in on goal with only substitute keeper Blake Tuxford to beat. The former Brisbane Roar striker made no mistake, finding the back of the net as the visitors restored parity.

Proia had an opportunity to steal all three points late on after he was fouled by Tuxford inside the box.

The youngster converted his first attempt but was forced to re-take his kick because of encroachment, paving the way for Tuxford to make amends and earn the Wanderers a share of the spoils.

Western Sydney Wanderers 1 (Olsen 23m)

Melbourne Victory 1 (Proia 71m)

@ Cook Park, St Mary’s

Western Sydney Wanderers: 1. Thomas Manos, 2. Shane D’Cunha, 3. Daniel Alessi, 4. James Baldacchino, 5. Sean Symons, 6. Yianni Perkatis, 7. Nicholas Olsen, 8. Jake McGing, 9. Mark Cindric, 10. Alusine Fofanah.

Substitutes: 12. Joshua Barresi, 13. Matthew Stewart, 17. Brendan Hooper, 20. Blake Tuxford.

Melbourne Victory: 1. Keegan Coulter (20. Gian Tapia 46m), 3. Milos Ridesic, 4. James Karvelis, 5. Dylan Murlane, 6. Jordan Brown, 7. Christopher Cristaldo, 8. Luc Jeggo, 9. Anthony Proia, 11. Kieran Dover, 12. Anthony Duzel, 13. Damien Miskulin.

Substitutes: 2. Christian Cavallo, 10. John Buceto, 14. Stefan Nigro, 20. Gian Tapia.