Roar succumbs to Glory youngsters

Perth Glory has come away with a 1-0 win over Brisbane Roar in their Foxtel National Youth League game at Cleveland on Sunday.

Roar dominated possession throughout and played much of the game in Perth territory but couldn't convert the superiority on and off the ball into goals.

Perth keeper Jerrad Tyson made a string of saves, several from close range, as Roar repeatedly pushed into the attacking third.

But unlike in their previous home match where they were clinical with their goal-scoring opportunities, this time Roar watched shot after shot wide go slightly wide, high, saved or blocked.

In the first half alone Roar had seven clear-cut scoring opportunities but the 45 minutes finished scoreless - largely thanks to Tyson, who at one stage tipped over for four consecutive corners.

As the minutes ticked down in the second half, Glory sensed they may get something from the game.

The visitors began to push forward with renewed optimism as Roar's passing game went astray with midfield possession surrendered far too easily at times.

And Glory caught Roar defence napping with a second half goal to take all three points.

Although the Young Roar threw everything at Glory in the final stages, they were unable to find the net and became increasingly frustrated – perhaps reflected in the five yellow cards the home side incurred to the visitors' two.


64': Joseph Knowles was allowed to run into the six-yard box and played a short cross for Nikola Talimdzioski, who had gotten goal-side of his marker, to tap in from a metre.

Brisbane Roar Youth 0
Perth Glory Youth 1
(Talimdzioski 64')

Brisbane Roar Youth: 1 Michael THEO (gk), 2 Jaidan WALKER, 3 Cameron CRESTANI, 5 Luke DEVERE, (4 Mark RODIC 60'), 6 Jerome POLENZ, 9 Nick D'AGOSTINO (10 Adam SAWYER 74'), 12 Harrison SAWYER (7 Dane INGHAM 56'), 15 Jesse DALEY (below), 16 Devante CLUT (c), 17 Shannon BRADY, 18 Javier HERVAS.

Perth Glory Youth: 12 Jerrard TYSON (gk), 2 Henry DURR, 3 Jacob COLLARD (c), 4 Dejan SPASESKI, 5 Hayden STEVENS, 6 Calvin WHITNEY, 7 Walieldin ISMAIL, 8 Sean TROUP (13 Daniel STYNES 54'), 9 Joseph KNOWLES (16 Cameron TEECE 66'), 10 Sam McKEARNEN, 11 Nikola TALIMDZIOSKI (14 Jackson MORGAN 86').